Running Goals in 2012

You could say I was peer-pressured into running.

At the suggestion / coersion of G., I ran my first half marathon in 2006 — the Virigina Beach Rock n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon, and boy was it a thrill.  Previously, I had not run farther than 6 miles, so it was a great mental challenge as well as physical, and really gratifying to know that I could carry my body across 13 miles in a couple of hours.  (NB: I do not recommend running a half marathon without properly training — it’s good to at least get in a 10 mile run before attempting one.)

Between 2006 and 2009 I completed several more half marathons, as well as one (and likely only!) full marathon in 2007.  As not to sound too much like a real runner, I might also add that I am slow…quite slow, and furthermore, I admittedly don’t really care that I am slow.  But I manage enough grit and determination to make it across the finish line, even if I have to walk from time to time to get there.

I took a hiatus from running after training through the brutally hot Austin summer of 2010 in order to run the San Antonio half marathon.  Running through days of 100 degree weather had taken a physical and mental toll on me, so I thought a break was required before I developed another painful case of plantar fasciitis. I turned my attention to yoga, weight training and combined that with a whole lot of taking it easy.

I would like to get back on the bandwagon for 2012, however.  You cannot become proficient at what you do not do every day, and I do aspire to be at least a proficient runner. This is the year I turn 30, so I’d love to be as ambitious as I can be with my goals.  I thought I’d run four races this year, one per season, beginning with 10Ks and ending with half-marathons.  I’m especially excited to run the Royal Parks Half Marathon, a course that takes runners through Hyde Park, St. James’ Park, Green Park and Kensington Gardens. It’s in October this year, so c’mon over and run it with me!

Leave a Reply

