Yoga in London

It will never be this easy to get myself out of bed and into a yoga class again…currently, my corporate accommodations are located exactly 30 seconds from a wonderful yoga studio, and I’m slightly ashamed to admit that today was the first morning that I was able to get up and get myself over in time for 7:30 AM sun salutations.  But I am so glad I did.

Of late, I’ve been trying to pay very close attention to how my body and mood feel after certain workouts, after eating certain meals, at certain times of day.  And one determination that I can make with utter certainty is that (especially given the decreasing levels of light in the mornings and the evenings), I feel much more alert, awake, enthusiastic, and generally better after exercising in the morning.  It is so very difficult to escape the entropy of sleeping in later, of using caffeine as a wake up tool.  But when I do, I find that it fouls my mood for the rest of the day.

Yoga is perfect.  Today I struggled through my class. I felt wobbly, unstable and a little insecure with even simple poses.  My breathing felt off.  But despite my difficulty with the class, I still walk away with a lifted mood and a feeling of increased space that stays with me for the remainder of the day.  The trick, I’ve found, is to be patient, to accept where my limitations are and just try to breath into them.

I had a yoga teacher in Austin tell me that yoga is a physical metaphor of how we approach difficult situations in life.  It’s a method of pain management — an ability open oneself up to difficulty, discomfort and mental duress and see yourself around them simply by accepting and breathing.  Rational thought and mental clarity always seem to come with accepting and breathing.

I love this metaphor, and find it to be true for me.

Leave a Reply

