Mail! Mail! Oh, I mean, “post’s come!”

Watercolor by Caitlin McGauley

I received my first piece of mail today.  I can’t tell you how much this pleased me.

Sure, it’s just an application for a National Insurance number (the UK equivalent of a social security number), but it was still so nice to open up my mailbox (an activity that I always relish at home or abroad) and see a letter with my name on it.

A little voice inside of me said, “Oh hey, look!  You do belong here after all.  This is your letter, by the way.”

Leave a Reply

