Homemaking and Flat Hunting

I need to find a place to live.

In a city as big, and as expensive as London, this is no small task.  Also, moving from Austin, where the rents were comparatively *free*, it makes gigantic price tags an even more jagged pill to swallow.

My poor jet-lagged brain is still thinking in terms of dollars as well, so when I see a flat priced at 300 GBP per week, I have absolutely no idea whether this price tag is suitable for my wallet or not.

Of course, there is also the matter of neighborhoods.  My dream flat will have:

  • at least one bedroom
  • access to a garden (public or private)
  • accommodation for two adorable puppies
  • large bathtub
  • not a dump
  • 10 minutes or less walk to convenient public transport
  • green and leafy neighborhood
  • convenient high street with good and practical shops, like a market, dry cleaners, bank, comfortable pub. (no fancy galleries, high-end fashion shops or furniture stores necessary!)
  •  nice, respectful neighbors.
Now that’s not too much to ask, is it?
For now, I’m comfortable enough in my temporary accommodations, but I have a sort of mis-placed urge to nest and home-make (newly wed that I am, albeit also, strangely, a single lady in the city).  Nonetheless, I desperately want to put out pictures in frames, get flowers for the table, put books on the coffee table, turn some music on when I get home from work.  I want to lay out my own china, pour a glass of wine in my own wine glass, put my feet up on my own ottoman.  I want to open the sash of my own window to let light and a little breeze in.  I want to take a nap on my own sofa.  Maybe I might even want to take up knitting (again).
Alas, I’m still a little betwixt and between, still feeling a little like a vagabond with no place (yet) to call my own.
3 thoughts on “Homemaking and Flat Hunting

    • Agreed — “not a dump” is of primary importance, but you would be amazed at how many properties can’t reach that standard! Can’t wait for you to come and explore London with me xx

  1. Come and live in Highbury!!!! Postcode N5! There’s Highbury Fields, Clissold Park for you and the pooches to run around. Not sure of rent prices but closest tubes are Highbury and Islington (Victoria line) and Arsenal (Piccadilly line). excellent cheese shop called La Fromagerie. Excellent wine shop Highbury Vintners! You’ll have to come visit!

Leave a Reply

